

## PRESS RELEASE

## GUIDANCE FOR DEALING WITH IMPACT OF THE OUTBREAK OF THE COVID-19

Recognizing that, due to the outbreak of the COVID-19, the industry is facing challenges in meeting statutory requirements and obligations required by the CMOU's Relevant Instruments (IMO and ILO Conventions), the member Administrations of the Caribbean MOU have agreed to adopt guidance for dealing with the circumstances (such as extending periods of service onboard of seafarers, delaying periods for surveys, inspections and audits, etc.) in a pragmatic and harmonized approach.

The guidance is prepared based on the general principle that any requests/issues would be considered on a case-by-case basis by the relevant port State. In accordance with the guidance, the port State should request the operator concerned to confirm that the flag State and/or RO, relevant seafarers organisations (if appropriate) have been involved in the process. For consideration of the request by the port State, operators/companies concerned should provide a plan or process containing equivalent solutions to address the COVID-19 situation and letters of dispensation or exemption by the flag State or RO, under which the period of grace for delaying surveys, inspections or audits should be no more than three months, in accordance with the relevant regulations of conventions.

The guidance will be reviewed upon any future initiatives IMO/ILO or developments of the situation.

March 18, 2020

Contact: Secretariat Caribbean Memorandum of Understanding on Port State Control Maritime Authority of Jamaica 12 Ocean Boulevard, 2nd Floor, The Ocean Centre Building Kingston, Jamaica, W.I. Tele: (876) 967-1077 Fax: (876) 922-5765 Email: secretariat@caribbeanmou.org Website: www.caribbeanmou.org

**COMMITTEE MEMBERS:** 

Mr. Michel Amafo - Chairman \* Mr. Joel Walton - Vice Chairman \* Mrs. Jodi Barrow - Secretary General

Member States: Antigua and Barbuda \* Aruba \* Bahamas \* Barbados \* Belize \* Bermuda \* Cayman Islands \* Cuba \* Curaçao \* France \* Grenada \* Guyana \*Jamaica \*Netherlands, The Kingdom of \* St. Lucia \* St. Christopher & Nevis \* Sint Maarten \* St. Vincent & the Grenadines \* Suriname \*Trinidad & Tobago Associate Member States: British Virgin Islands